Why advanced?

The Advanced Level qualification is aimed at people who have achieved an advanced point in their careers in software testing. This includes people in roles such as testers, test analysts, test engineers, test consultants, test managers, user acceptance testers and software developers.

This Advanced Level qualification is also appropriate for anyone who wants a deeper understanding of software testing, such as project managers, quality managers, software development managers, business analysts, IT directors and management consultants.

To receive Advanced Level certification 

  • candidates must hold the Foundation Certificate and
  • have at least 18 months practical testing experience

Advanced Level Modules

The Advanced Level has three Syllabi:

  • Test Manager

  • Test Analyst

  • Technical Test Analyst

A specific exam and certification is available for each of the three modules.

When a Certified tester successfully achieves certification on all three modules, he receives a "Full Advanced" certificat

What are the entry criteria?

To get the Advanced Level certification, candidates must hold the Foundation Certificate and have sufficient practical experience.

Which levels are available after Advanced?

Holders of an Advanced certificate are eligible to continue on to higher level software testing qualifications, certifying themselves at Expert level as shown below. The entire learning journey is underpinned by the ISTQB®Glossary. 

What skills does an Advanced level individual have?

An individual with the Advanced Level Certificate has extended the broad understanding of testing acquired at Foundation Level to enable the role of Test Manager or Test Analyst to be performed. Test Analyst skills may be further extended into the role of Technical Test Analyst.

The Advanced Level establishes a platform from which further skills and knowledge may be acquired at the Expert Level. After achieving experience as a Test Manager, for example, a person may choose to develop their testing career further by acquiring Expert Level certifications in the subjects of test management and improving the test process.

People possessing an ISTQB® Advanced Level Certificate may use the Certified Tester Advanced Level (acronym CTAL-TM, CTAL-TA, and CTAL-TTA, according to the module for which they are certified.

People possessing all the 3 advanced level certificates can obtain the Full Advanced level certificate.


Go to Top
Template by JoomlaShine